Spooky Soupy……

Ok, so this is a really tenuous halloween recipe.

I was going to make you guys pumpkin muffins or pumpkin pie or pumpkin and sesame autumn salad or something else appropriately pumpkin-y, but the tooth (or rather the gap where my tooth used to be) is still really sore and I’m feeling really quite sorry for myself, so all I want to eat is soothing, nutritious, no-chewing-required, soup.

Why not pumpkin soup? Because l already did that here. Dagnammit, I should have planned ahead!

So you’re going to have to make do with this recipe instead, but you’ll see that I’ve given it a halloween twist with the delightful spider web cream topping:

Yep, that really is the best I’ve got.

Sweet potato and chestnut soup

Serves four

  • 3 mid-sized sweet potatoes peeled and chopped
  • 1 litre good quality strong vegetable stock
  • 200 grammes chestnuts (Yes, you can roast and peel your own. No, I didn’t: I used Merchant Gourmet pre-peeled and packed chestnuts)
  • 2 onions peeled and quartered
  • 2 cloves garlic peeled
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried chilli flakes (more or less according to taste)
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • Soya cream to serve (Alpro Soya Single Cream)

Method

  1. Place the sweet potato, onion, garlic, chilli and ginger into a pan with the vegetable stock. Bring to the boil and then simmer gently for ten minutes. Add the chestnuts (reserving two or three for serving) and simmer for a further five minutes or until the sweet potatoes are soft.
  2. Blitz everything in a blender (add extra stock if the texture is too thick for your liking).
  3. Serve with a spiral of soya cream and trail a knife through the cream to create a spider web effect and a dubious link to halloween. Chop up the chestnuts that you reserved and sprinkle to finish.

Another super easy soup – Happy halloween everybody!

A note on recipe credits

A lot of hard work, time and effort goes into creative cooking and so I strongly believe in crediting recipes properly and only reproducing other people’s recipes with the creator’s consent. All the recipes I have posted so far on this blog have been my own.

This soup is one that I’ve been cooking for about five years, the original recipe came from a Sainsbury’s christmas magazine which I have long since lost. I’ve certainly veganised the recipe and I suspect I’ve actually adapted it quite a bit over the years, but if it is uncannily similar, then my apologies that a full recipe credit hasn’t been given.

10 thoughts on “Spooky Soupy……

Leave a Reply

