Perfect for Autumn : Cinnamon Cake

What I really should have called this recipe is ‘Forgiveness Cake’ being as it is a peace offering to my husband for having put up with me this week.

The wisdom tooth went from bad to worse, maybe the mushrooms on toast were a little premature, maybe I just got unlucky, but I ended up back at the hospital as I had an infection. I think I must have the world’s lowest pain threshold because a week and a bit after surgery it still hurts like you would not believe, ouch!

Unfortunately, I don’t have the type of job where sick leave is an option, so I’ve just had to push on through, but this has meant that by the time I got home from work each evening, I’ve been reduced to a snappy, irritable witch from hell. Poor Mr HFTB has had to bear the brunt of that.

Now if there is one thing I know about my husband, it is that almost any sin can be forgiven with an adequate dose of cake.

So this is how his Sunday afternoon is looking right now:

Mmmmm, cake and cream…… For added brownie points from the husband time the serving of this cake to the start of the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Autumn Cinnamon Cake

This recipe is a pimped up hybrid of Emily Mainquist’s Cinnamon Crumb Cake and Isa Chandra Moskowitz’ vanilla cake. I feel I’ve added enough of my own adaptations to post the recipe but would heartily recommend that all of you promptly order copies of both of their fabulous books.

For the crumb topping: 

  • 100 grams plain flour
  • 70 grams light brown sugar
  • 35 grams vegan margarine
  • 2 teaspoons maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated nutmeg
  • finely grated zest of half an orange

For the cake

  • 225 millilitres sweetened soya milk
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 225 grams plain flour
  • 2 tablespoons corn flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking power
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 115 gram vegan margarine
  • 110 grams golden granulated sugar
  • 60 grams light brown sugar
  • finely grated zest of 1.5 oranges
  • 2 teaspoons maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celcius and grease and line an 8 inch diameter cake tin.
  2. Make the crumb topping by adding all of the ingredients in a bowl and mixing with either a hand mixer or a standing mixer until you have a bread crumb consistency. (If it’s too wet and therefore you’re getting too big a ‘crumb’ then simply add more flour and brown sugar in equal measure until you get the right texture). Set aside.
  3. Pour the soya milk and apple cider vinegar in to a bowl and leave to curdle.
  4. Using a hand mixer beat the margarine and sugar in a mixing bowl until well combined. Add the remainder of the dry ingredients and beat again.
  5. Gradually add the soya milk/cider vinegar and continue to beat until well combined.
  6. Pour the batter into the cake tin and sprinkle the crumble topping over the top.
  7. Bake for 40 minutes or until a skewer inserted in to the centre of the cake comes out clean.

Serve warm with an inhumanly large glug of Alpro Soya single cream. You can add an extra dusting of cinnamon and nutmeg for good measure whilst you are serving if you fancy it.

I managed a slice and now I’m back to whimpering under a blanket on the sofa. Roll on 10 – 15 days when the gum will have re-grown and the pain will (hopefully) stop…….

12 thoughts on “Perfect for Autumn : Cinnamon Cake

  1. I am sorry to hear that you are still in pain. Anything that affects my ability to enjoy food is very unwelcome. I hope you recover quickly.
    The cake sounds (and looks) delicious. I’m glad it was a hit with Mr. HFTB.

Leave a Reply

