WOD One

Now I’m guessing my readers are going to fall into two categories at this point:

Firstly those of you who read the title to this post and went : ‘eh?’

Then those of you who read the title to this post and went : ‘oh yeah, crossfit baby, woop woop, high five, back slap, grrrrr’

Crossfit has been around for a while now, in its own words it is : ‘constantly varied functional movements performed at relatively high intensity’. As I understand it it combines weightlifting, powerlifting, gymnastics and cardio. There are some awesome YouTube clips displaying the skills of some the top Crossfit athletes or try this one that gives an overview of the whole thing.

WOD stands for ‘workout of the day’ and is one of the core things around which Crossfit is structured.

I’ve been wanting to give Crossfit a go since I heard that a Crossfit gym had opened up in Nottingham, but I was worried that I wasn’t fit enough and that I’d be the only girl.

Fortunately, Mr HFTB has been along to scope out the joint and has reported accordingly that 1. There’s tonnes of girls 2. Those girls are awesome and 3. Yep, I’m probably going to be the least fit person there even though I think I workout like a badass.

But you know what? How am I going to get that fit if I don’t get myself down there?

In the words of Ronnie Coleman : ‘Every body wanna be a body builder, nobody wants to lift this heavy ass weight : I do though!’

For the record I’m not a body builder, but I do love this quote. It applies to everything you want to achieve in life: if you want to do something, if you want to be something, there’s no point sitting around and hoping it will happen, you got to get out there and make it happen.

I want to be the fittest I’ve ever been, I want to surprise myself with the strength and durability of my body, I also, quite vainly, want to look in the mirror and feel proud of my reflection.

So people, tonight will see me do my very first Crossfit ‘WOD’.

Wish me luck and remember, if you don’t hear from me for the rest of the week, it’s not because I don’t care, it’ll just be because I’m a little bit broken….

NOTES : Guys, I’m not quite sure what happened with this post. It was published today (12 November). I published it via my mobile and somehow it published for yesterday (11 November) – I’m a techno-drip and therefore have no idea how I managed to achieve this. So, I’ve tried to re-publish and hopefully it will come out for the right day. Needless to say, I did not manage both a hangover and my first Crossfit Induction on the same day……

2 thoughts on “WOD One

    • It’s amazing – a real revolution! Update post to follow on this, but needless to say, I’m a little bit achey right now. I have also discovered that I am completely incapable of jumping on a box, did not see that one coming!

Leave a Reply

