A Dirty Dilemma: To soap or not to soap, that is the question…..

My journey into veganism has been a real eye opener. I was not a strict vegetarian but I am a strict vegan. This means that I do my utmost to keep all animal products out of my life.

When people ask me what the hardest thing about being vegan is, my honest answer is: shoes and handbags.

I love shoes and handbags.

Really, really, love them. In a slightly disturbing, sometimes want to lick them, kind of way. The range of shoes and handbags available when you chose not to wear leather is seriously curtailed. My credit card balance does not view this as a bad thing.

Myyyyy precciiouuuusssssssss
(Animal free shoes courtesy of Dorothy Perkins)

I have made some pretty daft errors since I turned vegan in January: a puffa jacket that I didn’t realise was down-filled until I’d been wearing it for three weeks, a woollen jumper (I know! I didn’t think about the whole sheep thing either) and carrying on eating crunchy nut cornflakes for six weeks before the fact that they’re covered in honey caught my attention (I promise I am normally very good at label reading – I think I just got so excited that lactose wasn’t listed in the allergens section that I forgot to check the rest of the ingredients).

But this weekend I was out for dinner, took a trip to the bathroom, went to wash my hands and this happened:

Ok, I admit it, by the time I took this picture I may have had one too many, hence the lack of focus. For those unable to read through my beer glasses, this soap proudly contains milk and honey. Nnnnggghhh. Cue: unexpected vegan dilemma.

Argghhhhh, what to do, what to do, what to do?

Principals and dirty, bacteria-ridden, hands? Or, clean hands and a dirty conscience?

Honestly? I soaped. I’m sure there are some hardcore Big Vs out there who will think that that was the wrong thing to do.

From now on I’m going to be one of those OCD people who takes hand sanitizer everywhere……..

8 thoughts on “A Dirty Dilemma: To soap or not to soap, that is the question…..

  1. You are funny 🙂 You can’t be held responsible for which soap other people buy, and your use of this soap in a public bathroom did not cause any being to suffer. You could write to the restaurant and politely let them know that this company experiments on animals and would they mind not buying their products – they might be glad to be informed; but you not washing your hands wouldn’t have helped anyone, so just chill, your conscience is clean :-). Oh, and don’t buy hand sanitiser – think of the plastic!!!!!

  2. OMG! This was so funny! I never thought about that until I saw the label saying milk AND honey. Glad you had clean hands but I think we all will carry a “spare” of hand sanitizer from now on! 😉

Leave a Reply

