Brighton Rocks and Reality Bites….

…. oh I know I’ve been M.I.A. but we just had such a fabulous break that I can’t quite bring myself to apologise!

So as you know, we abandoned our (somewhat ambitious) plans to finish converting our camper van and tour the open roads in a free-spirited-hippy fashion and instead booked ourselves in for a last minute break in Brighton.

Ooooo, moody. I just love the seaside in winter

Ooooo, moody.
I just love the seaside in winter

We stayed at the Kemp Townhouse, this beautiful upmarket B&B is just a short stroll from the beach (less of a concern in the current Baltic conditions) in the wonderfully bohemian Kemp Town area of Brighton.

I loved it from the moment we stepped foot through the front door but the wow factor really kicked in when we found they had placed vegan flapjacks in our room. Then, when the chef proffered specially made vegan pancakes to accompany our vegan full-english, well, I thought I’d died and gone to heaven.

You had me at vegan flapjack

You had me at vegan flapjack

We had all sorts of high ideals of doing fabulously cultural things, but we ended up spending most of our time scoffing at all the fabulous eateries that had been recommended to us :

IMG_1812 IMG_1872

Delicious treats from Infinity, Loving Hut, Iydea, Food for Friends and the Kemp Townhouse

IMG_1787

This series of photos shows us getting ‘cultural’ at Iydea, Food for Friends, Infinity and Loving Hut. A huge thanks to Mark at Herbifit and Violet at Violet’s Vegan Ecomics for your fabulous recommendations

549586_10152295084280507_456763345_n IMG_1859 IMG_1860 IMG_1782

I like to think that I’ll get round to writing full reviews of all these places, but you know me and my blogging promises by now, so just in case the full reviews are not forthcoming, I would confirm that all of these cafes/restaurants were fab and I would have no hesitation in recommending each of them to all of you.

After three wonderful nights we hit the road for Tiverton (eugh five and a half hours in traffic). We went to Mr HFTB’s cousin’s wedding. Tip for an exciting fun filled wedding : Marry into a family with a wicked sense of humour and a penchant for impromptu performances – I cannot capture in words the absolute delight when mid-way through the ceremony the family led the congregation in an unexpected acapella version of Stand By Your Man.

And now.

Oh now.

Well, now I’ve been back at work for a week and it all seems like a distant dream.

Sigh……….

8 thoughts on “Brighton Rocks and Reality Bites….

    • Hi Liz, no – to be honest we picked it because it was on special offer and the reviews on tripadvisor were really good! Everyone commented on how good the service was so we figured we would ask if they could do a vegan breakfast for us – we didn’t expect them to do as well as they did! Hope you are well xxx

  1. That B&B that gave you a full English vegan breakfast! Waw!! We can only dream of that over hre in meat-eating Belgium! All of those vegan eateries look great! We only have 1 loving hut vegan resto here in Belgium! :(!!! Thanks for this lovely post!

    • Hi Sophie, I do think we’re very lucky here in England, although this hotel was particularly lovely and accommodating! I must admit that I am a bit nervous about visiting mainland Europe as I think it will be much much harder to eat out! Happy christmas and new year to you xxxx

Leave a Reply

