There are no words…

I didn’t think it would be appropriate to post without expressing both my utter horror and sorrow at the loss of so many innocent lives at Sandy Hook Elementary School on Friday.

In this era of wall to wall news coverage we can sometimes become numb to the tragedies that we see, day in day out, played out across our TV screens. But there will always be stories that, sadly, reach through the shields that we put up.

I wanted to take a moment to express my admiration for those individuals who put themselves in the line of danger, some paying the ultimate price, to protect the children in their care. Whilst I hope that I would, I do not know if I could have been as brave and selfless as you.

I also wanted to express my sorrow for those who will face not just this Christmas, but every Christmas and season to come without their loved ones.

I have taken some time this weekend to appreciate my friends and family and to acknowledge that for so many people, not just those affected by this tragedy, but those affected by the hundreds of tragedies that play out across the world on a daily basis, life is harder than I could ever imagine.

So, if you have a spare moment, hug someone you love and take a minute to appreciate the life we so often take for granted.

2 thoughts on “There are no words…

Leave a Reply

