Christmas Karma and a Very Berry Smoothie

Right, I believe in sharing and caring and so I am going to share a very valuable lesson with you, in the hope that in doing so, you won’t make the same mistakes that I have.

Here my friends, are three sentences you should never ever utter in the run up to Christmas: 

  1. “Yeah, work’s pretty quiet right now. I think I’m going to have a bit of an easy run into Christmas.”
  2. “Do you know what the best thing about turning vegan is? I just never get ill anymore, I haven’t had a single cold all year, even now, when everyone in the office is dropping like flies.”
  3. “I’m really proud of myself, I used to be so disorganised, but now, well I can’t even remember the last time I lost my purse, and we all remember how often that used to happen.”

Those three sentences are the reason that I spent the last two weeks before Christmas working twelve hour days and marking up documents on my weekend, spent Christmas day drowning in my own snot on the sofa and generally looking like this:

IMG_2021

and why I spent Boxing Day waiting to get my purse back from Central Police Station after dropping it in Tesco’s car park whilst on a mercy dash for Lemsip.

Oh Christmas Karma rocks!

How about you guys? I hope you all had a fabulous Christmas. Despite my whinnying, I actually had a lovely time: any day spent surrounded by family is a good day, even if I am snoring through my swollen nasal canals and they’re taking photos of me (thanks Sis).

Very Berry Smoothie

Its been a while since I’ve dropped on a recipe, so I thought I had better.

Now I know an icey smoothie isn’t a traditional Christmas drink for most people, but the boy and I both have sore throats from all the coughing (did I already mention three times that I had The. Worst. Cold. Ever?) and I feel the need for a lovely vitaminy hit. So if you fancy it, why not try this Very Berry Smoothie which brings back happy memories for me of Christmas spent at Bondi beach a few years ago, mmmmm, 30 degree sunshine!

Its got tinsel, it must be Christmas!

Its got tinsel, it must be Christmas!

Ingredients

Serves : a small army or two greedy guzzlers

  • 50 grams oats
  • 400 grams frozen mixed berries (I used raspberries, cranberries, blackberries and blackcurrants)
  • 500 militres almond milk

Method

  1. Throw the oats in the blender and blend until they are a fine powdery consistency.
  2. Add the fruit and milk and blend until smooth (if you have a sweet tooth, add a dash of sugar – that’s how the boy likes it, but personally, I don’t think it needs it)
  3. Drink and feel better instantly!

Happy Christmas everybody x

7 thoughts on “Christmas Karma and a Very Berry Smoothie

    • Hi Ally, all better now, that’s the main thing! The oats add a really nice bit of bulk to the smoothie – especially good if you’re eating on the run and are having a smoothie in place of a proper meal. If you blitz them first so they are more powdery it cuts out the need to soak the oats over night. Happy new year to you and yours!

      • I’m glad to hear you are better now. I’m going to try your smoothie today. I’ve had a green smoothie already. It’s New Year’s Day and I’m celebrating with smoothies!

      • The perfect way to start the new year! I have a houseful of very hungover friends so I’m going to make them all one of these as a pre-fry up appetizer! I have to confess that I’ve not really got into green smoothies yet, but I know that I should as everyone raves about them! Happy new year x

      • Amazing : we had a full vegan fry up for six – and everyone loved it – not bad considering there were four meaties and only two vegans! The smoothie with raspberries and blueberries sounds so good, I’ve got myself totally hooked on them this week, thank goodness they’re good for you!

Leave a Reply

